Present Members:

Dr. Tony Forshey, Chairperson
Mr. Charles Prince, Vice Chairperson
Mr. Richard Moore, Member
Mr. Randy Wolf, Member

Present Staff:

Mr. Clifford Mason, Fire Chief
Ms. Amanda Perkowski, Fiscal Officer

Present Members:

Mr. Randy Weekly, Member

Present from the Public:

The meeting was made public via live stream on RCFD’s Facebook page. There were ten (10) live viewers, and Leslee Herra attended in-person.

Location: Refugee-Canyon Fire District, 111 Basin Street, Hebron, OH

Meeting was called to order at 2:00 PM by Chairperson Forshey who led the Pledge of Allegiance.


Public Comment:

Comments from live-stream listeners were directed to be sent by email to None were received. Leslee Herra asked if she could ask questions about the budget; she was informed that, by the laws governing special meetings, comments/questions are limited to the topic on the agenda. It was suggested that she stay after the meeting to discuss the budget with the Fiscal Officer.

Resolution #11-2020 in the matter of declaring it necessary to levy a tax was presented to the board. The resolution specifies that an 8.5 mill, 5·-year fire/EMS levy will be placed on the ballot for the 3 November 2020 election. If approved, the tax will be levied in tax year 2020 and collected in calendar year 2021. Mr. Moore moved to approve Resolution #11-2020, and Mr. Wolf seconded the motion. Mr. Prince asked if language could be added to the ballot to clarify that both the Village of Hebron and Union Township levies would cease if the RCFD levy passes. Ms. Perkowski stated legal counsel advised that RCFD did not have the authority to include language on the ballot relating to actions by other entities. She added that the message would need to be conveyed in the levy campaigns. Mr. Prince further emphasized the importance of communicating to the residents that this levy is not intended to be in addition to the Village and Township levies. Motion carried 4-0. Mr. Moore moved to adjourn the meeting at 2:04 PM, and Mr. Wolf seconded the motion. Motion carried 4-0.


*Download the PDF of these meeting minutes